Better Living Through Technology: a blog dedicated to emerging
technology trends in hardware, software, webware, marketing and beyond
 
 
 



« CitySearch Reviews a Non-Existent Restaurant | Main | I See The Future of Online Advertising at Dapper.net »

How Dave Williams Lies with JavaScript
Ed Kohler

Dave Williams runs a get rich quick using Google scheme at a site called Dave Gets Green where he sells some sort of secret something or other. It's hard to tell for sure.

Regardless, here's a little trick Dave Williams uses to lie to visitors to his website. Notice that Dave Williams says he lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota in his bio:

Dave Williams

Now look at the source code used to build his bio:

How Dave Williams Fakes His Location

Oh my. I get the impression that Dave Williams is actually from whatever town someone visiting his site happens to live in. That doesn't seem all that honest to me.

Dave, at least get the punctuation right, man.




TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.technologyevangelist.com/cgi-bin/mt-tb.fcgi/1549

Comments

1. Posted by: justin on February 16, 2009 12:26 AM:

Not to mention using document.write() is evil. He should be using proper DOM methods. But I suppose if Dave can't even be straight about what city he lives in, then what hope do we have?




2. Posted by: bex on February 16, 2009 11:39 AM:

I just tried to test out his site from Albuquerque... but I couldn't find this guy's site... maybe he got the axe already?




3. Posted by: Ed Kohler Author Profile Page on February 16, 2009 2:54 PM:

Justin, it's really sad to see someone lie so poorly. :-)

Bex, I found that site through a Facebook ad. Today, the ad is back with a photo of Andy Samberg and a new domain name.




4. Posted by: Destin Coleman on February 17, 2009 12:16 PM:

He posts a pic of a check, that is supposedly proof of earnings, but the check is made out to a Kevin Hoeffer, and yeah, when I look at it, says he is from Brooklyn.




5. Posted by: barry on February 18, 2009 2:12 PM:

check out stevengetsgreen.com
same picture different name, different scam.

Even the picture of the check and the picture of his family is the same.

he is so busted.




6. Posted by: Ken Montville - The MD Suburbs of DC on February 19, 2009 8:19 PM:

Ahhhh. For all the tech guys in the world he's busted but for all the people who are just "Regular Joes" (not their real name) this is a scam that works again and again. In fact, he probably makes the $5000+ by running these scams.




Post a comment

Required fields marked with: *
Name*:


Email Address*:


URL:
Remember personal info?

Comments*:

HTML Tags you can use in your posts:
<b>Bold</b> = Bold
<i>Italicized</i> = Italicized
<a href="http://www.othersite.com">Link to Other Site</a> = Link to Other Site


Please keep comments on-topic. Contact authors or other commenters
directly for off-topic conversations.

Notify me of future comments via e-mail



Technology Evangelist Digest - Free Newsletter
Sign up for the free Technology Evangelist Digest to receive daily updates, editorials, and practical advice on emerging technology trends in hardware, software, webware, marketing and beyond.

Technology Evangelist Digest will keep you up to date on the technology trends that will help make you more productive and efficient both in business and your personal life.

Let's face it: If you made it to this line, you must have found something valuable on this page, right? Think about how cool it would be to have something free and interesting to read every day from Technology Evangelist by signing up today.

1. Fill in your email below,
2. Then click on the confirmation email you receive.
3. That's it. Your first Technology Evangelist Digest will arrive within 24 hours.




Previous Entries:


Tag Cloud